Tribal Government & News

TERO holds annual appreciation dinner

11.14.2022 Kamiah Koch TERO, Events


By Kamiah Koch

Social media/digital journalist

The annual TERO Appreciation Dinner was held Friday, Nov. 4, at Spirit Mountain Casino with Tribal Employment Rights Office Director Harris Reibach performing the role of master of ceremonies throughout the night, introducing speakers, presenting awards and announcing raffle winners.

Grand Ronde Tribal Council Chairwoman Cheryle A. Kennedy gave an invocation and Tribal Council member Brenda Tuomi spoke on behalf of Tribal Council.

A dinner was served to the approximately 100 attendees followed by more speeches of appreciation and presentations.

TERO Commission Chair Russell Wilkinson spoke on behalf of the TERO Commission and Angela Crain of the Office of Civil Rights at the Oregon Department of Transportation complimented the ongoing partnership between TERO and ODOT.

“The night was awesome,” Reibach said after the event. “It was a wonderful opportunity to show appreciation to our workers and Indigenous-owned businesses.”

Toward the end of the event, the TERO Worker of the Year Award was presented. Grand Ronde Tribal member Matt Lux received the 2021 Worker of the Year Award and Klamath Tribal member Jerry Yanez received the 2022 Worker of the Year honors.