Tribal Government & News

Tribal Election Day is Saturday, Sept. 10

08.31.2016 Dean Rhodes Elections

Time is running out on Tribal members to vote in the 2016 Tribal Council election.

Election Day is Saturday, Sept. 10, and ballots will be counted at the Community Center that day and results will be posted that evening on the Community Center’s front doors.

Nine Tribal members, including two incumbents, are seeking three-year terms on Tribal Council.

Incumbents are Tribal Council Vice Chair Jack Giffen Jr., seeking his fifth term, and Tribal Council member Denise Harvey, seeking her second term. Incumbent Ed Pearsall is not seeking re-election.

Challengers are Monty Herron, Michael Langley, Penny DeLoe, Kathleen George, Jason Darcy-Chantel, Lisa Leno and Jackie Many Hides. They are all seeking a first term on Tribal Council.

Tribal voters can vote for up to three candidates on their ballot.

Last year, 1,151 ballots were cast out of 3,972 Tribal members who were eligible to vote for a 29 percent turnout. According to the Tribe’s Member Services Department, 4,030 Tribal members will be 18 or older and eligible to vote on Election Day. Meanwhile, the Election Board reported that 2,614 Tribal members were registered to vote as of mid-August.

Eligible voters – those who will be 18 or older as of Sept. 10 – must be registered to vote with the Tribe. Tribal members can register up to and including on Election Day. Late registrants can bring their registration into the Community Center on Election Day.

The Tilixam Wawa with candidate statements was mailed first class to Tribal members in July and ballots were mailed to voters with verified signatures on July 27.