Tribal Government & News

Tribal Council elects Kennedy, George to officer positions

09.12.2018 Dean Rhodes Tribal Council

Tribal Council members unanimously re-elected Cheryle A. Kennedy as chairwoman and Jon A. George as secretary during the Wednesday, Sept. 12, Tribal Council meeting.

Since he was not up during the Sept. 8 Tribal Council election, Chris Mercier remains vice chair.

Kennedy, who won her seventh consecutive three-year term on Tribal Council, will serve her 13th year as Tribal Council chairwoman. She is on track to become the longest-serving Tribal Council member ever during this three-year term, surpassing Reyn Leno, who served 21 years. Kennedy also served on Tribal Council for almost 18 months in the mid-1980s.

George will serve his third year as Tribal Council secretary as he begins his third consecutive three-year term.

In other action, Tribal Council also approved the enrollment of two infants into the Tribe because they meet the requirements outlined in the Tribal Constitution and Enrollment Ordinance.

The entire meeting can be viewed by visiting the Tribal website at and clicking on News and then Video.